340. Pet Smart

Well, here it is 2 a.m., and still no blob started.

But never fail, as long as my son-in-law Curt is waiting in the wings. Responding to my plea for pet stories, here’s how he saved my day, by telling us about his very special pet.  

.

.

.

“Okay, so let me tell you about my pet.

When I first saw her I was sure she was the one. Buff colored hair, and just a little bit on the timid side. She came from a litter of seven and was the middle one.

I was able to watch them interact at meal time, and let me tell you, it was noisy. The parents and the entire litter was skeptical of this strange person in cowboy boots. The parents were, I felt, ready to keep their middle litter buff girl away from this person they knew nothing about. 

Would he be trustworthy and be able to treat her right? What kind of kibble would he provide? I sure hoped they would warm up to me as I could tell she did have good bloodlines. 

The father was a Great Dane, but a gentle giant. The mother, a Poodle with all the energy of the energizer bunny. Quite the offspring one might think. All were very different but also the same.

The one I was able to have the good fortune of being able to do my best to provide a roof over her head, have a yard to run and play, and kibble for her to eat and water to drink was absolutely the right choice.

A very loyal companion, she wags her tail when she gets her hair brushed, and loves unconditionally. She likes to ride in the car and look out the window and gets excited when she sees other animals – especially horses – for some reason. She always eats what I put in front of her and doesn’t complain. She is very hungry in the morning. Likes to cuddle on the couch and fall asleep. 

I can only think of maybe one time she seemed unhappy with me, and I am sure I must have done something stupid. Believe me, I am sure that wasn’t the only time I did something stupid. 

My pet –  as it has turned out to be – is my life-long companion, my best friend and my wife. For this, I thank the Great Dane and the Poodle for the pick of the litter. 

Oh, by the way, I have a cocker spaniel named Molly, and she is pretty special too.” 

 

 

 

 

.

.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 340. Pet Smart

  1. NayRay says:

    Wow what a blog !! He is so sweet. I didn’t think a woman would enjoy being compared to a dog, but he does it so sweetly. What a guy.! Thanks Curt .

  2. Josie says:

    This is so cute haha! I’m tearin’ up over here!

  3. Linda Lewis says:

    Curt, I loved this! People should all be so fortunate to have their spouse so dearly love. The best to you both!

Leave a Reply

