268. Getting to Know You

Today is June 1st.  That means it’s “Say Something Nice to Somebody Day” today.

I’ll go first.

Thank you for faithfully reading these blobs every day.  The comments you write and the photos and stuff you contribute are the best part of my day. It makes me know you better – a payback I never expected when my grandson Bryce insisted on launching this blog last September 6th. Who knew?

As of today, there’s only 97 more postings to go before this going-on-80 blog ends next September 6th. Octo-woman will graduate at last to that venerable age of 80 at which time she plans to set aside her keyboard in order to take up a life of ill-begotten crime, dereliction, and carousing like you won’t believe.

In the meantime, I hope to continue to revel in discovering all the things I didn’t know about you before.  I’m lucky to know you.

So happy June 1st. Don’t forget to say something nice to somebody today. And if you can’t think of anything, take some advice from Thumper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 268. Getting to Know You

  1. Ford Video Fan says:

    This blog has become something that I look forward to every morning. It’s so fun to get some insight into you and into our extended families.

    You are a national treasure, Patricia Ford. Thank you for all of the time you’ve spent letting us get to know you a little bit better.

    I’m hoping 90 days won’t be the end of this blog. I’m hoping to see that you’re just getting started.

  2. Linda Lewis says:

    You are by far the NICEST person I’ve ever known…besides my Mom. I do remember wanting to be more like Suzy Bufton in the 7th grade because she was so nice. And remember my dear graphic artist, Carolyn Purser? I never heard her say anything bad about any one. My Mom was an angel. So are you! And hilarious, too.

  3. Lisa Marie says:

    Mom: OK, I’m in. Reading your blog is an important part of my morning routine, as pleasurable as that first cup of coffee. I love getting better acquainted with far-flung family members and friends, and I have a fantasy that maybe we have a big reunion for your 80th. But my favorite part is how your wit and charm and intelligence come through on random subjects and life experiences. Your blog is a legacy of your bright spirit, and we’ll be able to reread the entries and enjoy the experience all over again even when you’re not writing every day. Love, your first-born daughter

  4. Chris says:

    Oh, please don’t say it will end!! Reading your blog is always my ‘dessert’! You are a gifted humorist and have so much to share. Thank the heavens that you’re part of our family and part of my life. Love and Kisses!

  5. Octo-woman says:

    Jumpin’ Jehosophat! When I told you guys to say something nice to somebody today, I didn’t mean me. Honest. Thank you for all these kind words though. Yup, the going-on-80 blog will end on September 6th because I won’t be going on 80 anymore, and far be it from me to lie about my age. But as long as you’re willing to wade through and keep helping me out, I’ll probably keep blobbing. I might start up a blog called “going-on-90” only instead of posting to it daily, I might just do it weekly. At 52 blobs per year, that’d be 520 blobs before I hit the big Nine Oh. How’s zat? Are ‘ya game?

Leave a Reply

