236. How to Speak Chinese

Henry Ford said: “Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at 20 or 80. Anyone who keeps learning stays young.” 

I firmly believe that and I practice it 24/7.  As an example, ever since my granddaughter Arden’s been living with us, I’ve been inspired to learn a new language.  

Arden majored in Japanese and whenever I hear her speaking in the language or talking about what she learned while in school in Japan, I get carried away.

To surprise her, I decided that I too would learn to speak another language.

I found a wonderful place on the internet to learn to speak Chinese and in a few more days, I’m going to knock Arden’s socks off when I start rattling off small talk in Chinese.  

These are some of the Chinese phrases I’ve learned already.  It helps if you say each one out loud:

That’s not right…………………. ……Sum Ting Wong
Are you harbouring a fugitive?……………Hu Yu Hai Ding?
See me asap………………………. …..Kum Hia Nao
Stupid man……………………………..Dum Gai
Small horse…………………………….Tai Ni Po Ni
Did you go to the beach?…………………Wai Yu So Tan?
I bumped into a coffee table……………..Ai Bang Mai Ni
I think you need a face lift……………..Chin Tu Fat
It’s very dark in here…………………..Wai So Dim?
I thought you were on a diet………… ….Wai Yu Mun Ching?
This is a tow away zone………………….No Pah King
Our meeting is scheduled for next week… …Wai Yu Kum Nao?
Staying out of sight…………………. ..Lei Ying Lo
He’s cleaning his automobile……………..Wa Shing Ka
Your body odour is offensive…………… .Yu Stin Ki Pu

I can say all of these phrases perfectly already, if I do say so myself.  If you too want to learn Chinese, start practicing.   You can do it! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 236. How to Speak Chinese

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    Your body odour is offensive…………… .Yu Stin Ki Pu
    I used to say that sometimes when my kids were in diapers. I always wanted them to be bilingual.

  2. A relative says:

    being constipated, hung chow

Leave a Reply

