224. Making a Palm Cross

Every Palm Sunday, I sit in church studying the ease with which the little kids fold the pretty crosses out of the palm fronds we were given when we entered the church. (The palms are to remind us of Jesus’s triumphant arrival in Jerusalem where the crowds were awaiting him holding palm branches.)

One year, I asked a little boy in the pew in front of us if he would make a cross out of my palm frond.   He kindly obliged me and that cross stayed on the wall in our kitchen all that year.  It was perfect.

This year, I made up my mind that I would learn to do it myself. I downloaded some instructions on the internet and then kept trying.  When the palms wouldn’t hold up any longer against the struggle I was giving them, I decided this would have to do for this year. 

Here are the instructions I was using from the internet.


Take a palm frond about 1/2 inch wide and 18 – 24 inches and hold upright.

1. Fold the top down, away from you, and the bottom up, away from you, to form the shaft of a cross of desired length.
2. Turn the end down and twist around to the right and across the front of the shaft to make a crossbar in proportion to the length.
3. Fold the end around behind the shaft.
4. Bring the end from behind, under the center. Fold from the bottom right to the top left and under again from the bottom left to the top right.
5. Fasten the end through the back loops to lock.

This is what I was hoping for:

 

And this is  –  Octo-woman style – is what I got.

If you know of a better way I can learn to do it, please holler.
Have a happy Holy Week.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 224. Making a Palm Cross

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    Pat, I love your palm crosses. They have much more character and feeling. They represent the struggles but triumph for completing them. The intent, heart and soul is the most important thing. You are a whole souled woman for sure!

  2. Gretchen Covey says:

    I agree with Linda. Your crosses are earthy and beautiful. When we come to the cross of Christ we bring our broken, unfinished selves. No matter what shape we are in we are beautiful to Christ. So beautiful that he chose to die for our brokenness so that we could me made whole. Praise God for his unconditional love. Blessed Holy week to all.

    • A relative says:

      I agree with Linda and Gretchen. Do not change a thing! Your crosses are perfect in their sweet imperfect way.
      Susy

  3. Josie says:

    I also agree! They are so cute. They remind me of celery sticks.

Leave a Reply