169. Using the F-Words

Today’s blob should give you a little rest from reading, but please work this little puzzle instead. It’s by a guy named Dave Winer who wrote it in 1997.

Please read this sentence.

.

FINISHED FILES ARE THE RE-
SULT OF YEARS OF SCIENTIF-
IC STUDY COMBINED WITH
THE EXPERIENCE OF YEARS.

Count the F’s.

How many did you find?

To see the answer, scroll down the page until it appears.

There’s no catch. If you said there are 3 Fs, you’re wrong.  If you said there are 6 Fs, congratulations, you’re right.

Most people, myself included, only see 3 Fs at first.  That’s why it’s an interesting puzzle.  It teaches us about our ability to see what’s right before our eyes.  Don’t feel bad if you got it wrong; you have a lot of company.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 169. Using the F-Words

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    I have seen this twice before and knew there were six, but only counted five. When I counted again, I saw I missed one of the of’s. I hope other people comment on their replies.

  2. A relative says:

    Wow, that is so weird. I looked at the puzzle carefully and only found three. Finally, with Linda’s helpful comment I was able to have the other “F”s reveal themselves.
    Susy

  3. Breesay says:

    I just looked at that puzzle for 5 minutes and could only find 3, I had to come to the comments to figure it out. I am going to blame it on speaking so much Spanish, haha. Keep up the good work.

  4. Josie Warden says:

    this really freaked me out.

Leave a Reply

