153. Ford Covey Feetball

My idea of a super bowl is one that’s filled to the brim with buttered popcorn.

As a non-practicing jock, the only part of Super Bowls I watch is the half-time entertainment.  The rest of it seems like a lot of pushing and shoving and mayhem and violence that is best to avoid.

I can only remember attending two football games in my illustrious career as a sports fan.  These are some highlights from one of them.  My grandson Ford Covey, ten years old, was playing with his team. It may not be as exciting as the game you’ll be seeing today, but Ford’s team didn’t get paid the big bucks either.


I can’t tell you who won.  There must have been some touchdowns and whoever got the most won.  I do know that.

After the game, my conversation with Ford went something like this:

That may give you an idea of why I won’t be watching the Super Bowl with you today.

Here, for niece Christy or anyone else who would rather read the text rather than watch the “coach” on video, here it is. . .

When grandson, Ford Covey, was 10 years old, he invited Octo-woman to watch him play in a football game. She seemed to be having a great time.  After the game, Ford asked her how she enjoyed the experience. Octo woman said, “I loved it. The hot dogs, the popcorn, the Gummi Bears. But the activity on the playing field made no sense to me.”

Confused, Ford asked, “Grandma. What confused you? It’s pretty simple.” She replied, “At the beginning of the game, they flipped a quarter to see who gets the ball first. Then, the whole game they’re shouting ‘Get the quarter back, get the quarter back!’ I mean, give me a break, it’s only 25 cents!”


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 153. Ford Covey Feetball

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    That’s a good one about the quarter back that I had not heard. Here one from a die hard. A TOUCHING STORY
    A guy had 50 yard line tickets for the Super Bowl. As he sits down, a man comes down and asks if anyone is sitting in the seat next to him.
    “No,” he says, “The seat is empty.”
    “This is incredible,” said the man. “Who in their right mind would have a seat like this for the Super Bowl, the biggest sporting event in the world, and not use it?”
    He says, “Well, actually, the seat belongs to me. I was supposed to come with my wife, but she passed away. This is the first Super Bowl we haven’t been to together since we got married in 1987.”
    “Oh…I’m sorry to hear that. That’s terrible. But couldn’t you find someone else, a friend or relative, or even a neighbor to take the seat?”
    The man shakes his head. “No they’re all at the funeral.”

  2. Rene' Melchior says:

    I wait all year for this game…………I love the comercials!!! : )

Leave a Reply

