147. The End of the World, Rescheduled

I’m so impressed with the campaign underway across the nation – especially in Tennessee – on how to monumentally increase billboard revenue.  Predict the end of the world!  Wow.  Why didn’t I think of that?

If I ever needed an excuse to quit dieting, this is it.  The Rapture is supposed to occur on May 21st, and the End of the World on October 21st.  With all that excitement going on, I don’t think anyone will notice whether or not I’m fat.

I wonder how they’ll handle the odds in Las Vegas, The Rapture was previously predicted for the year 1994 by the same fundamentalist group, but they seemed dedicated to try, try again till they get it right.

As far as I know, our family only has one “man of the cloth” — my nephew-in-law Dan Melchior.  Dan is a deacon of the Catholic Church but he’s also a Tennessean. One can only imagine the confusion and turmoil going on in his parish.  I wish we could hear how they’re handling it.  Dan, I need to know.  Is anybody still dieting?

In Nashville alone, there are said to be 40 billboards like these in place.  The group which sponsored them, declared that the Bible “guarantees it”.  In a televised interview, one of the advocates said,“We hope that anyone would get a Bible out and try and prove that this is wrong.”

Right away, somebody came up with these suggestions:

Acts 1:7
And He said to them, “It is not for you to know times or seasons which the Father has put in His own authority.”

Mark 13:32-33
“But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. (33) Take heed, watch and pray; for you do not know when the time is.”

So there you have it.  A possible scheduling conflict. I’d better hang onto the cottage cheese and lettuce.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 147. The End of the World, Rescheduled

  1. Josie Warden says:

    This is so interesting! It also makes me feel less guilty for eating that chocolate eclair tonight.

  2. Denise says:

    *sigh* I’m sticking with the celery, myself. I’m with the Apostle Mark on this one. 😉

  3. Gretchen Covey says:

    You are NOT fat……. but you are very funny.

  4. Linda Lewis says:

    Well, if it’s true about the end of the world, at least you’ll be 80. And I agree with Gretchen. I have NO idea where you think you are fat. Even eating those mac choc candies @ one a day, you are doing great…and are VERY funny, yes, yes.

Leave a Reply

