132. Big Love Tonight

(Note to reader: If you happen to be my niece, Rene’ Melchior, stop reading today’s blob.  I don’t want you to be getting any ill-formed ideas.)

Tonight begins the 5th and final season of Big Love – the story of the guy who had more wives than is necessary.

In case you don’t know the series, the main character is Bill Henrickson (played by Bill Paxton) who is a fundamentalist Mormon and polygamist. He currently has 3 wives and 9 children.


It doesn’t sound like a bad setup to me. As the mother of 7 children who were born within nine years, I could have used some sister wives to help out. There may be a lot of fatigued mothers out there secretly cheering them on.

Such as, perhaps, my niece Rene’ Melchior.

Like Bill Henrickson, niece Rene’ and her husband Dan also have a horde of small persons running around their Tennessee household.

Unlike the cozy setup in Utah, however, there are no sister wives like Barb, Nicki, and Margene to divvy up the work.  It doesn’t seem fair. Everybody should have so much household help.

Big Love is on HBO at 9 p.m. tonight. In case you need a recap of what has gone on before here it is.


By the way, as far as Rene’ and Dan are concerned, maybe we should just keep this sister wives thing our little secret. There are laws, you know. If the parents end up in jail, Octo-woman might have to take care of all those little persons. She knows what THAT means. There might not be enough Gummi-Bears to go around.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 132. Big Love Tonight

  1. Rene' Melchior says:

    Well I don’t know where to begin! No I have never watched the show. Not because of disapproval, but not into reality shows. As to having 7 children, I have found in my circumstances that spreading them out in age is the key, my older children are a blessing. I’m not sure I wouls have survived the first couple months without Meg, and since then the boys have pitched in very nicely. So far I haven’t had to farm out my children since I’ve moved to TN. Dan and I don’t do much, but when we want to There is always someone there. As for sharing my husband………HMMMM , I don’t think so, they might make me look bad. HA!
    Some people have something to say about us having so many children, My comment is always, which one do you think God made the mistake with. They all needed parents and God chose to give them to Dan and I. I know that some of my Seatle aunts and cousins would agree with me. There may be some things I would change about my life, but not my husband, kids, or how many wives live in my house!
    I love my life and I am blessed,
    Rene’

  2. Gretchen Covey says:

    I didn’t know that Rene and Dan had that many kids! What a blessing. I know that Rene and Dan are fabulous parents. Enjoy the show, Mom. Bryce will miss watching with you!

  3. Josie Warden says:

    I’m so excited for the new season!!!

Leave a Reply

