116. Resolutions

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

I like thinking up and making New Year’s Resolutions. Yeah, I know, New Year’s resolutions just go in one year and out the other. But I still like making them.

Setting a goal and seeing a vision of its end result is pretty exhilarating. During the first couple weeks of January, I can bask in sanctimony knowing I’m engaged in doing something constructive or therapeutic or creative, And once in a while (not often), the goal is met.  Trying and failing is better than not trying at all, and sometimes the effort succeeds.

I only make two or three resolutions every January.  Dieting is always one of them and this year, like always, I’ll try to get rid of 10 pounds while eating less and exercising 20 minutes per day. My son Matt and I will probably go back on the Kaiser Permanente 3 day diet plan but we usually do it on alternate weeks for 10 weeks or so.  It’s the only successful weight loss diet plan we’ve ever used besides Weight Watchers. We never found out whether the diet really originated at the Kaiser Permanente clinics but it still seems to be called that.  Here’s a link if you want to see the diet:

http://www.diet-and-health.net/Diet/kaiser3daydiet.html

I’m also resolved to make a dent in editing our family videos and photographs.  Notice that I said “make a dent”.  The only resolutions I ever succeed at have to be very modest in scope. Susy and I actually got the project launched in 2010, but I need to work on the next phase in 2011.This would be a good year to work on it since I keep fumbling around looking for photos and videos to use on the blob.  At least I’ll know where they are.

In case you haven’t made any resolutions for 2011, try out some of these.  A few years ago,  Marilyn Covey (she’s mother of my son-in-law Brad) listed these on the back of her and her husband Don’s Christmas letter. These are my favorite ones.

Give your troubles to God: He will be up all night anyway.
Take your dog to obedience school.
Never refuse homemade brownies.
Smile at babies.  Babies are such a nice way to start people.
Do nice things for people who will never find out.
Work on your parenting skills.  Parenthood is a partnership with God.
Call your mother.
Feed a child with milk and praise.
Be resolute. The mighty oak was once a little nut that stood its ground.
Give thanks before every meal.
Take a nap on a Sunday afternoon.
Drink 8 glasses of water a day.
Never deprive someone of hope.  It might be all they have.
Don’t be afraid to say “I’m sorry”.
Don’t take good health for granted.
Don’t interrupt. Don’t tailgate.
Improve your performance by improving your attitude.
Wave at children on the school bus.
Listen to your children.
Leave everything a little better than you found it.
Leave the toilet seat in the down position.
Keep it simple. Keep good company. Keep your promise.
Be a good loser. Be a good winner. Be romantic.
Sing in the shower.
Don’t nag. Don’t gossip.
Whistle.
Marry only for love.
Slow dance.
Take good care of those you love.

Finally, let’s consider Mark Twain’s opinion on the subject of New Year’s resolutions.

New Year’s Day:  Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions.  Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual. ~Mark Twain

HAPPY NEW YEAR.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 116. Resolutions

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    Pat, I think you are going to be the only ‘going on 80 lady’ who will be ‘blobbing’ at the stroke of midnight tonight! No need for you to make NYResolutions, you ARE perfect the way you are. Perfect Mom, Perfect Grandma, Perfect Video Editor, Perfect Friend
    My resolutions? To have a blast with you and Suzy, finishing my video projects this year! And, funny you mention attacking family photos. I have already invited two friends and family if they want to, to have a Friday night photo album fest. Since this year I’m not teaching skiing Friday nights, I’m going to use the same time that I spent going up to the mountains. (2pm to 10pm January and February), and then see if we want to continue our ‘soup and salad’ night. Drop by and join us. You are only two blocks away!
    Only other resolutions I’m making is to play some board games with you and my boyfriend Matt and to go on some walks with you…like we have always talked about!
    Happy New Year, my beautiful friend!!

  2. Pingback: Kaiser Permanente 3 Day Diet Plan | Diet Information| Tips and Free Resources

Leave a Reply

