69. I Want This Dog

Forget the skateboard, Santa.  I want this dog instead.


I’m impressed.  Haven’t seen this little dog’s resume yet, but judging by his job performance and work ethic, he’ll make a fine employee.  I’ve been needing some help with the housework, and I want to hire him.

Who knew that a dog could do the dishes and the laundry, could make the bed and the coffee, dust the floor, put away the clutter, wash windows and wait on his/her owner (literally) hand and foot?  I’ve been dreaming of getting a house robot but this dog will suffice for now.

Wikipedia tells me that this little canine slave might actually be a Jack Russell terrier and that all this talent comes with a price.  They need some schooling before they can learn to manage your household or even live in peaceful co-existence with your neighbors.

Obedience classes are definitely recommended to potential owners, as Jack Russells can be stubborn at times and aggressive towards other animals and humans if not properly socialized.

Daughter Susy and granddaughter Gretchen just finished an inviting little web video for their favorite dog training facility here – The Seattle Agility Center in the Renton/Maple Valley area. It reminded me of how much fun having a dog for a housemate can be. Little did I know about all this housecleaning talent. If you or your doggy companion is in the mood for higher education, check out the video here.


Now back to Jack Russells, information courtesy of Wikipedia. A Jack Russell terrier is first and foremost a working dog. They were originally bred to bolt fox from their dens during fox hunts. Jack Russells tend to be extremely intelligent, athletic, fearless, and vocal dogs (they bark a lot). It is not uncommon for these dogs to become moody or destructive if not properly stimulated and exercised, as they have a tendency to bore easily and will often create their own fun when left alone to entertain themselves.

Their high energy and drive make these dogs ideally suited to a number of different dog sports such as flyball or agility.

Despite their small size, these dogs are not recommended for the condominium or apartment dweller unless the owner is ready to take on the daunting task of providing the dog with the necessary amount of exercise and stimulation

They have a tremendous amount of energy for their size, a fact which can sometimes lead to trouble involving larger animals. They may seem to never tire and will still be energetic after their owner has called it a day. While socialized members of the breed are friendly towards children, they will not tolerate abuse even if it is unintentional.

All of this information is interesting, but what I really want the little mutt for is for doing all that housework!

Doug and Diana at the Seattle Agility Center offer classes in Obedience, Agility, Extreme Agility, and Nose-work, but I didn’t see any listed for “Light Housework”.   I’m sure they will amend the curriculum as soon as they watch my future housework servant in action.  I think I’ll name him “Jack”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 69. I Want This Dog

  1. Anne Gibert says:

    I had a Jack Russell mix for years. He was a good dog — that’s what his gravestone says. He died on my mother’s 100th birthday. I missed him when he was gone, and for a year afterward I was finding white dog hair in the dryer lint screen.

    Now I have 2 toy poodles. They don’t shed.

  2. Colleen says:

    I WANT A JACK RUSSEL but they do sound like a bit too much of a handful for me. SO CUTE!!

  3. Rene' Melchior says:

    Thia Jack and all Jacks I’ve met, which is quite a few, they are very popular where I live, make me very very tired. I don’t think I could afford the doggie snacks either. HHaa

  4. Christine says:

    I love this story. Dogs are great companions. I grew up with dachounds and the past several years with miniature schnauzers. I had been a dog lover for 30+ years but now I do not have any. I am taking little time off now. Again, a great story!

Leave a Reply

