59. Christy Ford’s Hair

My niece Christy had something this week that nobody really wants to have.  Surgery.    Except for the bill, the worst is over, but the owie remains. I thought a little modeling session might make her feel better.

I was happy to learn that whatever they removed from Christy during surgery wasn’t her tresses.

Christy inherited the drop-dead gorgeous hair of one of her parents.  I’ll let you guess which one.

Here are pictures of her mother Lorraine

and her father Don.

The photos are too old to do either one of them justice.  Lorraine, sadly isn’t with us any more, but she was a radiant beauty if there ever was one.  As she got older her hair took on a silvery luster and its natural curly/wave always looked like she’d just had it done.

Bald was not one of the things I meant to be when I grew up, but stoically girding for a hairless future, I  groan with envy when I see a crown like Lorraine’s.  Or Christy’s.

Just for fun – and hopefully to get a giggle out of her – here’s a little music video of Christy modeling other styles for her mop. (She can’t hear, so I’ll print the words of the song below the video.)

If you had to vote for the best style, you’d probably choose however she’s wearing it next time you see her.  You can count on it.  (Speaking of counting, I read this the other day: There are 3 kinds of people.  Those who can count and those who can’t.)

(Words to “Hair” from the Broadway musical “Hair)

Gimme a head with hair Long beautiful hair Shining, gleaming, Streaming, flaxen, waxen

Give me down to there hair Shoulder length or longer Here baby, there mama Everywhere daddy daddy

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair Flow it, show it Long as God can grow it My hair

Let it fly in the breeze And get caught in the trees Give a home to the fleas in my hair A home for fleas A hive for bees A nest for birds There ain’t no words For the beauty, the splendor, the wonder Of my…

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair Flow it, show it Long as God can grow it My hair

 

I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty Oily, greasy,  fleecy Shining, gleaming, streaming Flaxen, waxen Knotted, polka-dotted Twisted, beaded, braided Powdered, flowered, and confettied Bangled,  tangled, spangled, and spaghettied!


Oh say can you see My eyes if you can Then my hair’s too short

Down to here Down to there Down to where It stops by itself

Get well quick, Christy!  And I’m so glad that whatever they extracted wasn’t your crown of glory!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Answer:   Dr. Seymour Butts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 59. Christy Ford’s Hair

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Cute video! I hope Christy feels better soon!

  2. Hello Everyone,
    Thank you, everyone for your prayers! Yes, I am feeling much better and I finally will return to work on Monday. I will see the doctor on Wednesday so I hope to pass with flying colors. I did not know that you love my hair!
    Love, Christy

  3. Linda Lewis says:

    Christy looked so cute in most of the hair styles. The video reminded me of my younger daughter, Leilani. In middle school and high school, she would charge out the door with a different hair style everyday. I tried in vain to get a pix of her. Not once would she let me take a picture. Not once.

Leave a Reply

