35. Lucky Day

I didn’t notice till this morning that today is 10/10/10.  Now that’s interesting. That date won’t happen again for another 100 years. It’s supposed to be a lucky day. Many marriages (and possibly other forms of gambling) are being performed with high hopes today.

I got to thinking that I’d let the day play out and see if the number 10 might make any noteworthy appearances.

Son Matthew came downstairs at 10 o’clock so we could get ready to head out for church.  That was the first “10” I noticed.

Next, we were at 10:30 Mass when the Gospel from Luke 17:11-19 was read.  It’s about the 10 lepers who were healed by Christ, but only one of them came back to thank him.  The other 9 should have gotten flogged, but, since they were in a group of 10, even Octo-woman was afraid to discipline them single-handedly. You may have to help. What were they thinking?  Where were their mothers?  At any rate, St. Luke gave me my second “10” of the day.

After our pastor’s homily, he asked a family to come forward so he could introduce them.  He had been their pastor at his previous parish.  Among them was 10 year old Jake who should have died 3 years ago from necrotizing fasciitis (flesh-eating disease).  Instead, he lived and has been given a new face by plastic surgeons.  I’m counting the 10 year-old as another of the 10s.  A miracle child, for sure.

When I got home, I tried to remember whom I know who is 10 years old right now.  If you know somebody who is, please tell me so we can find out if they had a good or bad day today.  And if you happened to talk to one of them, tell us if it was your lucky day.

Thinking of 10 year-olds triggered another thought.  About my ten pregnancies — my unlucky watershed moments.  I didn’t want ANY of them, I fervently prayed that I Would Never Get Pregnant.  Getting Pregnant was like getting –  well –  leprosy,.

Producing every 11 or 12 months though, it was clear that once again my prayers were not being  answered. I read one time about a child who was lamenting to her teacher because her prayers weren’t getting answered.  “Child”, said the nun, “Our prayers are always answered.  But sometimes the answer is ‘No’”.

And “No” it was..  I will spend the rest of my life in thanksgiving for that, and for the riches that were showered on us afterwards.  Unlike one of the 9 lepers, I soon learned to endlessly babble, “Thank you, God, for saying “No” to someone who was temporarily deranged.”  And even though 3 of our pregnancies didn’t make it all the way, I still include those wee persons among our 10 biggest achievements.

As to whether 10/10/10 is a lucky date or not, I was talking to brother Leo today. Leo knows almost as much about the Holy Roman Empire as he knows about golf, an activity to which he devotes 14 hours per day.

He tells me that the calendar itself was only 10 months at one time — till Julius Caesar muscled in and unilaterally inserted his month of July.  Then, not to be outdone, Augustus Caesar decided Julius couldn’t get away with that, so instead of just producing an attack ad to get the new month rescinded, he horned in and added his own month of August.  He showed ‘em.

Of course, without all this fun and games, today’s date might have occurred years ago, so I don’t know how much time and energy you want to dedicate to figuring out whether you were lucky today or not.

I thought it would be really nice to include a reading from the Bible’s book 10, chapter 10, verse 10, until I read it.  I happen to know that at least one child (granddaughter April age 12) reads this blog and I’m pretty sure that that chapter of the second book of Samuel is R-rated.  Sorry, April.

Actually, Mad Men is on TV tonight at –  guess when – 10 p.m. – and she can’t watch that either.  But Grandma can.  And will.

I’ll leave you with a nudge to think about other 10s we know.

Our 10 fingers and toes.

A decade of time.

The top 10 of something.

Number 10 Downing Street

The Ten Commandments

10 plagues of Egypt

Ten-pin bowling

10 dimes to a dollar

A phone number

A shuttle lift-off count-down 10,9,8. . .

A decade – 10 beads – of the rosary.

And please comment if you can add any more.

There.  We’re done talking about 10/10/10.  We won’t re-visit that subject until 100 years from now.  You’ll just have to accept that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 35. Lucky Day

  1. Gwennie says:

    Your funniest blog yet. Um…ten vowels in Northwest White American English.

  2. Linda Lewis says:

    The Ten Blessing from Jesus. I always wondered why the first nine started with Blessed. The tenth one starts: Rejoice, and be exceeding glad.

    Maybe it’s something like the Seventh Day of Creation. Last Sunday teaching Sunday School, I had a young boy new to our church keep saying that God was good. We turned to Genesis and talked about what was created each day and how it was very good. I said on the sixth day, God created man. Asking them what they thought was created the seventh day, this dear one said, ‘Woman?’… That was so sweet, but when I asked what we do when we finish our work and that it is good. This same boy said, turning around in his chair, arm out stretched in a slow full swing, said, “God looked at all the beauty around him and rejoiced.” I always love how we are blessed by teaching.

Leave a Reply

