023. Saint Joseph Tutorial

You may already know this story told about the writer G.K. Chesterton, but it bears repeating.  (As the mother of seven children, I’m fluent at repeating myself. “Kids, brush your teeth.  Did you brush your teeth?  I said, go up and brush your teeth.  Now, I said. Brush. I mean it.”)

Anyway, one time, G. K. Chesterton was schmoozing with some friends, just sitting around shooting the breeze. Then somebody posed this question to the group, “If you were stranded on a desert island and you could have one book – only one – what book would it be?”

Everybody in the group thought about and stated his/her preference.  “The Holy Bible”, somebody suggested.  “The Works of Shakespeare”, said another.  “An anthology of the world’s greatest poetry”, said yet another.  And so it continued around the room, till it got to Chesterton.  “Well”, he said, “If I was stranded on a desert island and could have only one book, I guess I’d want it to be “The Complete Manual on Shipbuilding.”

What reminded me of this story was something daughter Susy said today.  She said my post about the housing crisis (see Secret of Life # 21 Housing Meltdown) talked about WHAT happens following a petition to St. Joseph, but she didn’t think it covered enough information about HOW it’s executed.

Thus, as a public service, I present the following video tutorial.  It was recorded in 2008 by Susy herself and with my granddaughters Gretchen and Josie. You may not learn how to build a ship, but I hope you’ll learn a lot about how to acquire or sell real estate.

What a moving experience that was.  Note that when the digger does the actual planting of the statue,  she/he is supposed to look like she’s tying her shoe so as not to arouse suspicion.  Also, when invoking the final prayer, try not to get the hiccups like Gretchen did. It’s tacky.  Quitcherlaughing!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 023. Saint Joseph Tutorial

  1. Linda Atkinson says:

    Great VIDEO! I loved it. Did you have to pay the 3 beautiful actresses? Did they fly in from Hollywood? Seriously, I have heard about the magic powers of St. Joseph. I have had friends bury him by a house they wanted to sell. It is great to be able to watch it first hand. I only wish I had popcorn by my computer…’cuz I felt like I was at the movies!

  2. Gwennie says:

    I’m so glad you took video of this!!! Such the cutest thing! Also, Susy, I’ve been neglecting for a long time to tell you how much I love and respect you. We’re family, so it’s a given, but we should say it more anyway. When I was a kid, some relative of ours mentioned that you and Kurt were the best parents she’d ever known, and I can tell that it’s true. Which is, of course, an indirect compliment to your foremother, the author of this burgeoning collection of sweet family love and hilarity. Thanks, you guys, and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

